Alphabet Soup
Alphabet audio Soup
My Baby Boy
0:00
-2:40

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Alphabet Soup

My Baby Boy

When the cannons roar, it's much harder to hear the muses | Guest Chefs theAngelcy | Alphabet Audio Soup
2
Album artwork by Anna Dubinsky | theAngelcy Exit Inside (2014)
The first time I heard “My Baby Boy” (2014), I loved the melody and the arrangement, but it was the lyrics that unsettled something in me and moved me every time I heard the song. They made me sad the way a good movie or book can. When I listen to the song today, it still sounds sad, but it’s a different sadness: the words no longer tell the story of a fictional character – they now erupt from my own mouth in a scream. Sometimes art takes a step toward reality, but there are other times when it’s lousy reality that insists on moving you closer to the art.

Share Alphabet Soup

Intro translated by Jessica Cohen

Housekeeping Note:
As requested by readers, my narration of the story in English is followed by a bonus recording in Hebrew. This week, I'm reading Yehonatan Geffen's poem, ״Too Close״.

This post is for paid subscribers

Alphabet Soup
Alphabet audio Soup
Listen to the author read his stories in a strange foreign accent
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Etgar Keret