Alphabet Soup
Alphabet audio Soup
One Moment of One Love
0:00
-1:02

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Alphabet Soup

One Moment of One Love

Guest Chef Yehonatan Geffen | Poem | Alphabet Audio Soup
6
Image by Par Etienne Cazin
In the year and a half since we’ve been doing Alphabet Audio Soup, I’ve only read my own work. It’s partly because I’m very self-centered, but that’s not the only reason. As an unskilled narrator with the vocal frequencies of a toddler left in the playground and the accent of a villain straight out of Marvel Universe central casting, I feel uncomfortable reading texts written by writers who never did anything wrong to me. But this time, since it’s my father-in-law, who was also my friend, and who is no longer with us, I’ll pluck up my courage and read an old translation by Jessica Cohen, Alphabet Soup’s translator and editor, of one of Yehonatan Geffen’s early poems.

Share Alphabet Soup

Translated by Jessica Cohen
First published in English in Beacons, The American Literary Translators Association, Winter 2000

This post is for paid subscribers

Alphabet Soup
Alphabet audio Soup
Listen to the author read his stories in a strange foreign accent
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Etgar Keret